Bridge

Bridge online
124 members from 17 countries currently on line at 25 tables - GMT

Mis-Bids and Mis-Clicks

This page updated January 2017


1. Mis-click on play of a card.


Law 45 deals with how to play a card and when a card becomes a played card.

We play a card by double-clicking the card or by dragging it to the centre of the screen. When a card is thus played, it can never be changed.

A Mis-clicked card can never be changed.

Players are never allowed to leave the table to play a different card.

The remainder of this page deals with the auction.

2. What is the difference between a Mis-clicked Call and a Mis-bid?

A “Mis-clicked” call is a call that you did not intend to make at the time you made the call.

You may change a “Mis-clicked” call if you are in time to do so.

A Mis-bid is the call that you intended to make at the point in time that you made it but then you immediately or subsequently realise that it mis-describes your hand (or it may be a “Mis-clicked” call that you did not correct in time).
You may never change a Mis-bid.

Note that the definition of a “Mis-clicked” call is quite specific in that the call that you had in mind is not the one you see on the table.

The following are examples of Mis-bids. These are NOT “Mis-clicked” calls and these may NOT be corrected:

1) Your partner has opened 1NT and your right hand opponent doubles. However, you did not see the double and bid 2H which would normally be a transfer showing spades, but your bidding system is that after a double, all bids are natural, so 2H here should be considered by your partner as natural.
You cannot change this call as the bid that you had in mind was 2H which is what you see on the table. Write this hand off to a lapse of concentration, and do not leave the table.
2) You misread the bids on the table and think partner passed when in fact he has bid 1S, and you pass when you have an obvious 2S bid. Again this cannot be corrected as this was down to your own misunderstanding.
3) You’re thinking to yourself “I’ll bid 4th-suit forcing” in an auction 1H 2C 2D and bid 2H. This bid cannot be changed as you weren’t thinking “I shall bid 2S”. In other words you must be clear in your own mind what bid you were going to make and that the bid on the table is not that one. It is possible that you thought that Hearts was the 4th suit, rather than Spades. This would be a mistake, rather than a Mis-click, and thus it cannot be changed.


3. How can a Mis-clicked call occur?

It would appear from our need to select a call and then to move the mouse and confirm it that we should never have Mis-clicked calls.

In practice, Mis-clicked calls can very occasionally happen. Some players have very sensitive mouse-pads. On very rare occasions players have been known to make a random call with no recollection of having made any call at all.


4. Procedure if you have Mis-clicked a call.

Law L25A provides that under certain particular conditions Mis-clicked call may be changed.

A player may correct a “Mis-clicked” call provided that their partner has not yet called after the accident. Note that it is not too late if Left Hand Opponent (LHO) has called.

The procedure is to immediately leave the table by clicking “Lv- Table” and then straight away return to your seat at the table. Please do not click “Force a restart” as this will take you out the club as well as away from the table. On returning to the table, please then explain that you Mis-clicked your call. The players will need to click “Ready” again, and the auction should re-start as per the original auction up to the point of the Mis-clicked call.

Please note that if partner has already subsequently called, as well as you not being able to correct it, you may not announce that you have Mis-clicked, because your “Mis-clicked” call has now become a Mis-bid, and you would be illegally passing unauthorised information to your partner.

It is extremely improper to deliberately make one bid, leave the table and return to make another bid, or to make another bid because you have now changed your mind. The onus lies with the bidder being honest that the bid that he made was not the bid that he intended at the time it was made.

Remember that if you Mis-bid, your opponents are not entitled to know, and your partner must not know, until the end of the play of the board. The only exception is that if your hand becomes exposed as dummy you may then reveal that you have Mis-bid.

There is a rare exception to this procedure and that, due to software constraints is when we pass and end the auction, or if LHO then passed and, in doing so, ended the auction. In such a case, please continue play and submit a report if you think you would have scored better if you had been able to correct your mis-clicked pass. In such a case, I may treat both sides as “non-offending”.

5. Procedure if another player claims to have Mis-clicked a call.

If another player leaves the table in time and returns claiming that he has Mis-clicked a call, then, providing that his partner had not yet called, the player must be allowed to change his call.

If in the original auction, the Mis-clicker’s LHO had called over the Mis-clicked call, that opponent may change the subsequent call that he made. If he does so, the knowledge of the withdrawn call is authorised information for his side but not for the Mis-clicker’s side.

Occasionally a player will think that he has left the table before his partner had called but in the fraction of a second before leaving his partner did call. The player needs to be informed of this and he will now have to call as before.

If an opponent changes a call and you are concerned that there may have been a change of mind rather than a Mis-clicked call, or if there is any incident that gives you any cause for concern at all, please just submit an Incident Report and the TD will take a look and advise.

Some Mis-clicked calls are obvious. If a player bids 7NT after opponents have uncontested reached game, that is almost certain to be a Mis-clicked call. Sometimes a Mis-clicked call will be less obvious such as a 3H call when the player intended to bid 3S.

6. Unauthorised Information arising from a Mis-clicked call.

There is no mention in Law 25A of unauthorised information. That is because in the case of an unintended call, the call is considered to have no connection with the hand held. This would not, of course, be the case if there had been a change of mind – now the withdrawn call would certainly have some relationship to the hand held, and it is one reason why only unintended (Mis-clicked) calls may be changed under Law 25A.

The TD, when making a ruling on receiving a report, will not consider unauthorised information, but will make a decision on whether a change of call was likely to have been due to a Mis-click or whether there was likely to have been any other reason.

 

 

Bridge is a game. Let’s keep it a friendly game with same rules for all!